District 8

POMA District 8

District 8 represents Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Bedford, Blair, Cambria, Fayette, Greene, Indiana, Somerset, Washington and Westmoreland counties.


District 8 Officers
Chairperson Gene M. Battistella, DO, McKees Rocks
Vice Chair Peter F. Stracci, DO, Pittsburgh
Secretary Christopher S. Poggi, DO, Somerset
Treasurer Jessica L. Masser, DO, Johnstown
Trustee Peter F. Stracci, DO, Pittsburgh
Alt. Trustee Cathleen S. McGonigle, DO, Greensburg
Young Physician Trustee James R. Latronica, DO, Pittsburgh
Trustee-At-Large Ben L. Park, DO, Indiana
Chairman Emeritus Les Pallone, DO, Beaver


The District Dish

Miss a meeting? Find out what happened in the District Dish Recaps. 

District VIII - August 17, 2019 - A Night With the Curve

Great fun, great weather and great company greeted 22 members of the District VIII POMA family on a Saturday night in Altoona. When you include the buffet with burgers & hot dogs, it was a near perfect evening. The Altoona Curve won 5-0 against the Bowie Baysox and the night ended to an amazing firework display set to the music of U2.

District 8 Altoona Curve Game


District VIII 32nd Annual Educational Winter Seminar - January 31 - February 3, 2019

Another successful winter seminar from District VIII is in the books. There were 281 attendees at this year's seminar which offered 20 Category 1A AOA CME credits, including 4 patient safety credits.  Additional 1A credits were also available by attending the Friday and Saturday afternoon workshops.

District VIII had a well-attended business meeting at this year's Winter Seminar. Elections were held, and you can see those results below. Members also discussed and agreed upon giving a scholarship to one medical student who has roots in District VIII from each PA osteopathic school; LECOM, LECOM Seton Hill, and PCOM. More details to come.